Educator of the Year


Nominations for 2018 Awards will open late fall.

Each year, the members of the ICE Executive Board approve the winners of several awards that are designed to recognize the outstanding efforts of ICE members. Please nominate deserving colleagues for one of two Technology Educator of the Year awards.

There are two categories for the annual Educator of the Year awards:

  • ICE Educator of the Year Award - K-12 Classroom teachers
  • ICE Outstanding Technology Using Educator Award - Media Specialists, technology coordinators and coaches, school administrators, and college and university faculty

Each award winner will receive a commemorative plaque and a complimentary 3-day general conference registration for the upcoming ICE Conference.

If you have questions about this program, you may contact Amber Heffner, ICE Executive Director, at 

Recent Educators of the Year:



2016 Teacher Category

Maggie Maslowski

English Teacher 

Joliet West High School



2016 Technology Using Educator Category

Jennifer M. Smith

Instructional Technology Coach

South Middle School, Arlington Heights



2015 Teacher Category

Michael Biondo

Social Science Teacher and Instructional Coach

Maine South High School District 207


2015 Technology Administrator Category

Phil Hintz

Director of Technology

Gurnee School District 58


2014 Teacher Category

Paul A. Solarz

5th Grade Teacher

Westgate Elementary School

Arlington Heights School District 25


2014 Technology Administrator Category

Marisa Burkhart

Director of Instructional Technology

Huntley Consolidated School District 158


2013 Teacher Category

Robert M. Lightfoot

7th Grade ReadingLanguage Arts Teacher

Plum Grove Junior High School


2013 Technology Administrator Category

Lisa Perez

Network Library Coordinator, Department of Libraries

Chicago Public Schools


2012 Teacher Category

Josh Stumpenhorst

6th Grade Social Studies and Language Arts Teacher

Lincoln Junior High School


2012 Technology Administrator Category

Ben Grey

Chief Information Officer

Oak Lawn-Hometown School District 123


2011 Teacher Category

Anthony Reibel

Spanish Teacher

Adlai E. Stevenson High School


2011 Technology Administrator Category

Jay Blackman

Director of Technology

Brookwood School District 167


2010 Teacher Category

Laurelle Lonze Stuart

Medidian Middle School

AptakisicTripp District 102


2010 Technology Administrator Category

Christopher Brown

Marie Murphy School

Avoca School District 37


2009 Teacher Category

Melissa Gosche

John F. Kennedy Elementary School

Schiller Park School District 81


2009 Technology Administrator Category

Teri Rossman

Technology Director

Spring Valley CCSD 99


2008 Teacher Category

Christy Marchessault

1st Grade/Bilingual Teacher

Wheaton-Warrenville SD 200


2008 Technology Administrator Category

Kate Isabelli

Staff Technology Trainer

Community High School District 128


2007 Teacher Category

Diane Goerlitz

Biology Teacher

Bloomington High School-District 87


2007 Technology Administrator Category

Charlene Chausis

Technology Training and Integration Manager

Stevenson High School


2006 Teacher Category

Jeff Doles

Applied Arts Teacher

Barrington High School-District 220


2006 Technology Administrator Category

Judith Satkiewicz

Director of Technology

East Maine School District 63


2005 Teacher Category

Brian Schultz

Classroom Teacher

Chicago Public Schools


2005 Technology Administrator Category

Marianne Fedak

Director of Technology

School District 45


  • Susan Homes and Cheri Pinchot, 2004
  • Joe Brennan, 2003
  • Bob Shaw, 2002